Just me

Well, here I am. I have started this blog to vent my frustrations. Hey, don’t judge me. It’s cheaper than therapy.

You may be wondering why I named this blog “The American Dream is Killing Me”.

Everybody grows up and has a vision of what they want their life to be like in the future. What job will they have? Who will they marry? How many kids will they have? What neighborhood will they live in? What kind of vehicles will they drive? Most of these questions are answered early in childhood. Kids see what makes them happy, or what they imagine would make them happy and decide how they are going to live when they grow up.

I had my dreams. Grow up, marry my high school sweetheart, live in the town we grew up in. Enjoy the good life. Have 3 or 4 kids. Work for a good company, make a good living. I was blessed with the gift of intelligence, and my husband was blessed with physical strength, ambition, and communication skills. We make a good team. This should have been easy. We have wonderful parents, gradparents and siblings. From the outside looking in, we are the perfect family living the “american dream”. We are pretty good at keeping up appearances.

Somewhere along the way everything started falling apart. One by one. The pursuit of living the american dream is killing me a little chunk at a time.

Leave a Reply

