Downsizing

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my situation and I’ve come to some grand conclusions:

  1. It sucks
  2. We have too much debt

Pretty obvious, I guess. But see here’s the problem. While camping over memorial weekend, it occurred to me that this is probably going to be the only time we will have this summer to go camping. Not really a problem, I guess, except that we purchased (financed) a camper 3 years ago and have 12 years left on the loan. I LOVE my camper. It is perfect for us and I love everything about it. But, it doesn’t really make sense to continue to finance this luxury item that we only use a few times a year when the bank is looking for 3 mortgage payments from us. Did i mention that i LOVE my camper? Ugh. I know what needs to be done, but I don’t want to do it. Finding the perfect camper is like finding the perfect spouse. Okay, maybe that’s a bit of exaggeration, but we literally spent months going to camper shows and looking online, talking to other campers, and peeking in hundreds of camper windows on dozens of lots.

I keep trying to convince myself that the money will come in eventually and everything can get caught up. Who am I trying to kid? I don’t have my own vehicle, the cable’s been shut off, the cell phones are about to get shut off, and we just had to borrow some money from family yesterday to pay the mortgage before the bank starts foreclosure procedures.

It seems like such a clear cut answer. What to do… what to do?

Leave a Reply

