Why not?

I like to check our checking accounts online daily. My hubby is not always prompt to give me the day’s receipts for me to put in the check register. Since we don’t use credit cards anymore, we use the debit/credit card connected to the checking account. I would like to go on record though for my ingenious solution to hubby’s overspending. We have two checking accounts. One to pay the bills, this is where our paychecks are deposited. And another one for business use. We each have a card to only one account.

So, anyway, I’m checking our accounts online the other day and i see that the business account is severely overdrawn. Immediately the hairs on the back of my neck stand up and i can feel the heat rising from my toes to my ears. I WAS P-I-S-S-E-D. I instantly sent a text message to my hubby saying WTF? He calls me and claims he didn’t buy anything for $912, but he’ll call the bank and see what’s going on. A few hours later, he calls me back. Apparently, someone has got a hold of his debit card number and helped themself to a shopping spree. Upon further investigation, we discovered that the charge was an online order to a powersports store about 45 miles from our house. At this point, i cracked up laughing. Why not? We’ve gone through every imaginable tribulation at this point. Why not identity theft? Ha!

Surprisingly, the bank has been very helpful and pro-active in getting this resolved. The next day there was another charge to Circuit City for $688. By now, we’re just rolling in the aisles laughing hysterically. And you know the funniest part? Somehow, these a-holes were able to purchase $1500 worth of stuff on our card. But, if we were to make a deposit today, and needed gas this evening (hoping the fact that the banks were closed would float the transaction until the next day when the deposit is posted) our card would be rejected. Imagine that.

So, as of this morning, the original charges have all been removed from our account, the card has been cancelled, and all that remains is the 7 overdraft charges that we incurred due to the a-holes.

On a good note, hubby is headed to Tennessee this afternoon to retrieve grandpa and bring him home finally! The doctors have given him a clean bill of health, he just needs some intense physical therapy to regain his strength. Praise God!!!

Leave a Reply

